Follow us on Facebook
Current Students
Prospective Students
Faculty & Staff
EmailEmail  PrintPrint  a a a

Thomas University Social Work students graduating May 11 were honored during a celebration dinner held Tuesday, May 7, at the Plaza Restaurant in Thomasville. Honorees include (front from left) Denise Gonzalez of Tallahassee, Florida; Fungai Mumba of Fort Mill, South Carolina; Shireka Davis of Tallahassee, Florida, holding a tablet on which Camille Turner-Brogdom of Tallahassee, Florida, joined in online; Kimberly Boykin of Quitman, Georgia; Willie Mae Atkinson-Smith of Havana, Florida; Shana James of Tallahassee, Florida; Marcia Mason of Tallahassee, Florida; Mariah Boone of Tallahassee, Florida; (back row) Dewayne Flectcher of Moultrie, Georgia; Raven Anderson of Tallahassee, Florida: Manoucheca Jules of Tallahassee, Florida; Dequita Majors of Dixie, Georgia; Destinee Williams of Thomasville, Georgia; Kayla Griffin of Valdosta, Georgia; Kayla Jefferson of Tallahassee, Florida; Latoya Stevens of Tallahassee, Florida; Savannah Swilley of Pelham, Georgia; Mikayla Murray of Tallahassee, Florida; Andrea Belcher of Tallahassee, Florida; Brittany Brearly of Tallahassee, Florida; Angela Clark of Tallahassee, Florida; Daniel Spitler of Tallahassee, Florida; and X’andria Green of Boston, Georgia. Not pictured is Dulcie Barbaree of Tallahassee, Florida.


TU Social Work graduates honored

Thomas University Social Work students who will graduate May 11 were honored during an annual celebration dinner held Tuesday, May 7, at the Plaza Restaurant in Thomasville.

Fourteen students were inducted into the Omicron Tau chapter of Phi Alpha, a national honor society for Social Work students. Inductees must have at least a 3.0 overall college GPA and a 3.25 GPA in Social Work classes. Inductees included Angela Clark, X’andria Green, Kayla Griffin, Savannah Swilley, Destinee Williams, Dulcie Barbaree, Andrea Belcher, Mariah Boone, Britanny Brearly, Shireka Davis, Denise Gonzalez, Shana James, Daniel Spitler and Camille Turner-Bragdon.

Three students received the Randolph Hall Resiliency Award for their determination and perseverance. They were Dewayne Fletcher, Shana James and Brittany Brearly. The Bonvillian “Be the Change” Award went to Kayla Griffin.

In addition to honoring students, two TU staff members were presented the Honorary Social Worker Award. Michelle Wendell, Registrar, and Penny Gaskins, Associate Registrar, received the award for their efforts in working with Social Work students.


Bill Milford (right), Chair of the Division of Social Work, presents the Honorary Social Work award to Michelle Wendell (center), Registrar, and Penny Gaskins (left), Associate Registrar.

Education that Engages... Empowers... TRANSFORMS

nimblecmsan NTS product