Follow us on Facebook
Current Students
Prospective Students
Faculty & Staff
EmailEmail  PrintPrint  a a a

2014 Forbes awards winners

Thomas University honored some of its outstanding donors during the annual Forbes Society Dinner held Thursday, Nov. 6, at Glen Arven Country Club. Award recipients include (from left) John Rainey, Vicey Harris Award; Dr. Susan Otto, accepting the President’s Award on behalf of the Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation; Theresa Brown, Ambassador’s Award; and Perry Mustian, W. Cameron Forbes Award.


TU honors outstanding supporters at annual Forbes Society Dinner

Thomas University held its annual Forbes Society Dinner honoring its donors and supporters on Thursday, Nov. 6, at Glen Arven Country Club in Thomasville. Four awards were presented in recognition of the recipients’ service to TU.

John Rainey received the Vicey Harris Award, which is given in recognition of unique service to Thomas University during a critical time in the school’s history. The award is named in honor of Mrs. Vicey Harris, whose initial gift of $10,000 began the Birdwood College fund, setting the foundation for Thomas University.

For the past decade, Rainey has been involved in student ministry at Thomas University. In 2007 he began Goalline Ministries, a non-denominational organization for TU students characterized by its commitment to students through strong community support. Goalline Ministry uses activities such as the Adopt-a-Student program, Survivor, Bible studies, mission projects and team devotions.

The Ambassador’s Award was presented to Theresa Brown. This award is presented to an individual of exceptional volunteer commitment to Thomas University. This individual’s selfless contribution of time and energy has been vital to the activities of the University.

Brown has been instrumental in leading a program that provides family experiences for TU’s Chinese Master of Business Administration students and providing brunch in her home for TU’s Commencement speakers. She is also a regular supporter of TU’s Arts in the Community programs, Sundays at Four and Fridays at Noon. Brown also contributes to the TU Capital Campaign and Annual Fund

The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation received the President’s Award, which is given to a corporation that demonstrated consistent support of the University for many years. The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation is a public charity that provides support for the education of women and for the care of elderly women in nine Southeastern states.

Since 2011, the Foundation has awarded 121 scholarships to TU nursing students totaling $225,000. Accepting the award on behalf of the Foundation was Dr. Susan Otto, Chair of the Division of Nursing

The W. Cameron Forbes Award was presented to Perry Mustian, President of Archbold Medical Center. The award is given to an individual who displays a life-long commitment to education and to Thomas University.

In his various roles with Archbold, Mustian has consistently been an advocate for the partnership between Thomas University and Archbold.  He has also served on TU’s Board of Trustees and presented a talk as part of the President’s Lecture Series on the changes in healthcare.

Dr. Gary Bonvillian, President of Thomas University, ended the evening by thanking all the supporters and donors and congratulating the many student scholars in attendance for their diligent academic work.

Education that Engages... Empowers... TRANSFORMS

nimblecmsan NTS product