Follow us on Facebook
Current Students
Prospective Students
Faculty & Staff
EmailEmail  PrintPrint  a a a


Faye Johnson (left), Director of Student Support Services at Thomas University, presents the Director’s Award to Anna Gass of Thomasville during the TRiO Student Support Services awards ceremony held Tuesday, April 22, in the Flowers Foods Executive Classroom inside Smith-Bonvillian Hall on TU’s Main Campus.


Thomas University TRiO Student Support Services honors students

During an awards ceremony held Tuesday, April 22, in the Flowers Foods Executive Classroom inside Smith-Bonvillian Hall on Thomas University’s Main Campus, TU’s TRiO Student Support Services honored students and mentors who participated in the program. The TRiO Student Support Services at Thomas University is an initiative to help first-generation, low-income students and students with disabilities to complete four-year degrees. The program is a student-focused center of excellence in academic advising, career exploration, disability services, mentoring, supplemental instruction, student development and tutoring. TRiO Student Support Services is funded by the United States Department of Education.

The SSS Director’s Award was presented to Anna Gass of Thomasville. This award recognizes a Student Support Services participant who has given honor to TU through perseverance, initiative and leadership. The award also recognizes Gass’ selfless work to help ensure the success of other students while maintaining academic excellence in her own studies.

The Outstanding Military Veteran Student Award was presented to Cynthia Passmore of Thomasville. This award is presented to a student who served in military service as well as a role model for other TU students. The award also recognizes Passmore’s characteristics of a positive attitude, diligent academic work and focusing on becoming a well-rounded student.

The Kathleen Duncan Award is presented to a student in recognition of exceptional contributions in building and sustaining mentoring relationships as well as guiding the academic and professional growth of their peers. This year’s recipient is Jessica Mobley of Colquitt, Ga.

Named in honor of a long-time TU faculty member, the Gale Whitehurst Distinguished Student Award recognizes students who holds distinguished academic credentials and person attributes of character and integrity. This year’s undergraduate recipient is Gabriell Johnson-Cameron of Kennesaw, Ga. The graduate student recipient is Chrissy Gainous of Thomasville.

Named in memory of a former TRiO SSS participant, the Charles “Chuck” Barfield Award is presented to a participant who exemplifies a spirit of perseverance and determination while striving for academic excellence. This year’s recipient is Tameka Smith of Cairo, Ga.

The Outstanding Program Ambassador Award is presented to participants who share the TRiO experience and actively promote the program. This year’s recipients are Lauren Strickland of Thomasville; Gabriell Johnson-Cameron of Kennesaw, Ga.; Chelsea Dolan of Thomasville; Morgan Colvin of Thomasville; Paula Davis of Thomasville; and Ashley White of Thomasville.

The Student Achiever Athlete Award is presented to athletes who are active SSS participants and who demonstrate a skillful balance in the academic and athletic pursuits. This year’s recipients are Monte Reese of Atlanta and Logan O’Byrne of Tallahassee, Fla.

The Spirit of Community Award recognizes a student’s commitment to service, the quality of his or her service, and that student’s tremendous efforts to build a stronger and more vibrant community both on and off campus. This year’s recipient is Waunell Reichert of Thomasville.

The Military Student Veteran Award recognizes military student veterans who showed courage, strength, leadership, excellence and perseverance in their military endeavors and now demonstrate the same characteristics in their academic careers. This year’s recipients are Burton Burt of Gainesville, Fla.; Phillip Corker of Cairo, Ga.; Cynthia Passmore of Thomasville; Joseph Polite of Atlanta; Stanley McBride of Thomasville; Jessica Mobley of Colquitt, Ga.; Ronald Fann of Thomasville; Hiram Collins, Thomasville; Trey Cromer of Cairo; Morris Sykes of Temple, Ga.

The Model Student Award is presented to the best overall conscientious students who demonstrate consistency in modeling the characteristics of a dedicated leader. This year’s recipients are Brenda Hubbard of Cairo; Rebekah Long of Pavo; Stanley McBride of Thomasville; Annie Strickland of Whigham; Laurent Strickland of Thomasville; and Chris Willis of Cairo.

The Most Improved Student Award recognizes students who students who made great strides in enhancing his or her learning experience by utilizing academic support services provided by SSS. This year’s recipients are Monte Reese of Atlanta and Elaine Baggett of Thomasville.

The Resiliency Award recognizes a student’s demonstration of the qualities of persistence, dedication and effort to complete a program in the face of adversity. This year’s recipients are Joyce Brown of Thomasville, Ann Gass of Thomasville, Richard Johnson of Barwick, Wanda Lovejoy of Thomasville, James Smith of Pelham, and Waunell Reichert of Thomasville.

The Scholars’ Awards are presented to SSS participants who were named to the President’s List, Dean’s List or Merit List for academic achievement. President’s List honorees include Octavia Bryant, Esther Burge, Kaytriana Clare, Morgan Colvin, Tan Dang, Chelsea Dolan, Jennifer Donalson-Baker, Caitlin Fletcher, Anna Gass, Amber Hamilton, Brenda Hubbard, Maggie Hutchinson, Gabriell Johnson-Cameron, Kathryn Jones, Susan McKendree, Logan O’Byrne , Daniel Spear, Jasmine Tucker and Ashley White. Dean’s List honorees are Katherine Alligood, Carrie Conger, Natalia Cooper, Sorrel Hale, Alex Kitsos, Rebekah Long, Trenton Madison, Jessica Mobley, Ashley Sikes, Lauren Strickland, Harley Tanner and James Williams. Merit List honorees include Shamari Josey, Karen Silsbee and Sylvia Thomas.



Education that Engages... Empowers... TRANSFORMS

nimblecmsan NTS product