Follow us on Facebook
Current Students
Prospective Students
Faculty & Staff
EmailEmail  PrintPrint  a a a

Would receives President’s Award at Thomas University

President's Award

Thomas University student Nathan Would of Cleethorpes receives the President’s Award from TU President Dr. Gary Bonvillian. The President’s Award is the most prestigious award presented to a Thomas University graduating student.

Nathan Would, a Thomas University student from Cleethorpes, United Kingdom, received the President’s Award, the highest honor presented to a graduating student, during the annual Honors Reception held May 3 at the Best Western Rose City Conference Center in Thomasville, Ga.

When presenting the award, Dr. Gary Bonvillian, President of Thomas University, applauded Would’s efforts during his time as a student. Would graduates Magna Cum Laude on May 4 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Secondary Education.

Would has maintained a 3.86 cumulative grade point average as an undergraduate students while attending classes full time, playing soccer for TU, assisting other students as a teaching assistant and peer tutor in TU’s Academic Resource Center, and serving as a member of the TU Honor Council.

As a member of the Night Hawks Men’s Soccer Team, Would served three seasons as team captain. Twice he was selected as an NAIA Scholar Athlete All American and a NSCAA Scholar Athlete All South.  In 2012 he was also named a Second Team Scholar Athlete All American by the NSCAA. Would received the Dean’s Scholarship for the 2012-13 academic year. On two occasions he was named as an NAIA and NSCAA Third Team All American. In 2012 he received the TU Men’s Soccer program’s highest award, the Excellence Award, which is presented for demonstrated excellence in academics, athletics and community service. In November 2012, the Sun Conference named Would as its nomination for the NAIA Dr. LeRoy Walker Champion of Character Award.

His professors, coaches and teammates applaud Would’s leadership abilities as an athlete and as a scholar. It’s this leadership that Would plans to use in the classroom as a secondary English teacher.

During the Honors Reception, Would was also recognized with the award for Outstanding Student in the Bachelor of Science, Secondary English degree program.

Other departmental award recipients include:

  • Angela G. Pittman, Associate of Science in Law Enforcement
  • Evan Blade Geer, Bachelor of Arts in Humanities
  • Nine L. Henriksson, Bachelor of Science in Biology
  • Jacob Odum, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration – Accounting
  • Jessica MacPhee, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration – Management
  • Angela Kiker, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration – Marketing
  • Corey Marie McCarthy, Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science
  • April Denise Washington, Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice
  • Jonathan Taylor Moore, Bachelor of Arts in Humanities – English
  • Kayla Webb, Bachelor of Science in Middle Grades Education
  • Pamela J. Pierce, Bachelor of Science in Nursing
  • Kirk Russell Hampton, Bachelor of Science in Psychology
  • Hannah Orr, Master of Business Administration
  • Jennifer Leigh Davidovicz, Master of Education
  • Jennifer Dominey Quaglietta, Master of Science in Community Counseling
  • Lindsay Bridges, Master of Science in Nursing
  • Gwendolyn Chappell Russell, Master of Science in Rehabilitation Counseling

Honors Reception

Thomas University honored its outstanding graduates during the annual Honors Reception held Friday, May 3, at the Best Western Rose City Conference Center in Thomasville. During the reception, students graduating with honors were recognized and department awards were presented. Participating in the reception are (front from left) Dr. Ann Landis, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Pamela J. Pierce; Nine L. Henriksson; Jessica MacPhee; Angela Kiker: Angela G. Pittman; Jennifer Dominey Quaglietta; Hannah Orr; (back row) Nathan Would; Evan Blade Geer; Keith Thomas; Gwendolyn Chappell Russell; Jennifer Leigh Davidovicz; Kayla Webb; Jonathan Taylor Moore; April Denise Washington; and Dr. Gary Bonvillian, President of Thomas University. Not pictured are Kirk Russell Hampton, Jacob Odum and Corey Marie McCarthy.


Education that Engages... Empowers... TRANSFORMS

nimblecmsan NTS product